Calculating OG

The_viking309

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I'm completely new to brewing. I started a mead, and I'm having a hard time understanding the whole calculation thing for the original specific gravity. When I used my Brix refractometer, the day of making the mead my Brix was 4, and the SG Wort was 1.017. How do I obtain the OG from these measurements? I'm asking because I just took a new measurement since I just added the first amount of Fermaid O. The reading was 23.1 and 1.087. Do I need a hydrometer at this point?

Hello,
A refractometer is a good tool to use in the beginning prior to fermentation. It'll give you a quick measure of the sugar content of the liquid prior to fermentation. This will be accurate if the liquid is homogenized. If not, the sugar will settle to the bottom and you'll be reading the mainly water that you drew off the top. I think this may be the case in the above example.
After the fermentation begins and you begin to have alcohol present, the refractometer is significantly less accurate, even if making suggested corrections.
This is where a Hydrometer is a better tool to see where you're at in fermentation and also when you're finished.
The difference in the starting gravity and the ending gravity will calculate out to tell you the ABV you've produced.
The calculator on the site here will make short work of that.
Good Luck and welcome,
Brian

Welcome to the forum!

If you have a hydrometer, take a reading with that, in addition to the refractometer. The two measurements should be very close. Be sure to stir the must thoroughly before taking a sample. As @The Brew Mentor pointed out, it's likely lack of mixing that made your SG go from 4 to 23 Brix.

Welcome to the forum!