Brew session does not show correct source water profile in water chemistry tab

Discussion in 'Brew Sessions' started by UnComfortablyNumb, Apr 19, 2019.

  1. UnComfortablyNumb

    UnComfortablyNumb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    It also doesn't list the correct water profile as an option:

    From recipe page:
    upload_2019-4-19_12-40-15.png

    From brew session water chemistry tab:
    upload_2019-4-19_12-42-3.png
     
  2. UnComfortablyNumb

    UnComfortablyNumb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
  3. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    931
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    The recipe doesn't help me- can you grab a screenshot of what you see in the recipe, and then the linked water calculator?
     
  4. UnComfortablyNumb

    UnComfortablyNumb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    @Yooper those screenshots are already included?
     
  5. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    931
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Sorry- I can't really see much and am trying to figure out what I"m looking at. You have your water profile in the water calc and can't pull it up from the recipe view? What is the correct water you wish to start with?
     
  6. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7,279
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    Today I got the source to go over just fine, it's the target I'd selected that didn't show up. In the Recipe, I selected my local water profile as source and "Light and hoppy" as target. When I got to the water calculator, it had the source but the target was my 50% dilution of my local tap water.
     
  7. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    931
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Oh, now I understand. So the target (or source) isn't carrying over to the water calculator, or it's not in the dropdown at all?
     
  8. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7,279
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    It's in the dropdown, the water calc just defaulted to the wrong profile. I selected "Light and Hoppy" and my 50% dilution of my tap water came over as the target.
     
  9. UnComfortablyNumb

    UnComfortablyNumb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    #9 UnComfortablyNumb, Apr 22, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2019
    I have my source water profile setup in my recipe as "RO Water" (I added this profile if it makes a difference) and "Pilsen (Light Lager)" as the target. When I click brew and go to the Water Chemistry tab the target is correct but source only lists "NEIPA" in the dropdown. NEIPA is also a water profile I added but do not wish to use as a source. The first screenshot I posted is from the recipe page and the second screenshot is from the brew session water chemistry tab.
     
  10. Craigerrr

    Craigerrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    1,500
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I just created this brew session today, and this is what I get in the brew session under the water chemistry tab.
    No idea where the Target Profile came from --- should be London Porter
    My source profile should be RO
    It also did not pull in my salt additions from the recipe
    I have included a snapshot of the water chemistry report from the recipe when it is in edit mode.

    Could this have something to do with creating a snapshot of the recipe when creating the brew session?

    Note also that the brew count is zero, but there have been 3 brew sessions for this recipe.
    Could this also be related to creating a snapshot each time?

    session 4.JPG

    session 1.JPG
    session 2.JPG
    session 3.JPG
    session 4.JPG
     
  11. UnComfortablyNumb

    UnComfortablyNumb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Do your snapshot recipes list the correct source/target profiles?
     
  12. Craigerrr

    Craigerrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    1,500
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Good Question
    Snapshot recipe shows the correct target profile, but is not linked to the water profile.
    Snapshot recipe shows the salt additions, but shows mash pH as n/a as it is not linked to the water calculator record.

    session 5.JPG session 6.JPG
     
  13. UnComfortablyNumb

    UnComfortablyNumb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    @Yooper This should be easy to reproduce. I just registered a new user, created a water profile and recipe with source water profile as the newly created one. When I click "Brew" on the the recipe there are no options in the source profile dropdown in the water chemistry tab.
     
  14. UnComfortablyNumb

    UnComfortablyNumb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Just saw the email for the new features. Some cool stuff in there.

    But could someone please look at this issue? My workaround is to open the water recipe calculator linked from the recipe. Would be nice to just use the water chemistry tab in the brew session.
     
  15. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    931
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    It had been fixed- it is still happening to you?
     
  16. UnComfortablyNumb

    UnComfortablyNumb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Yes. Happens for existing and new brew sessions. Also happens on a new recipe.
     
  17. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    931
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Can you show me a screenshot of the recipe (the part with the water calc linked), and then create a brew session and then screenshot that water part? Also, a link to the recipe would help, so I can dig into this. Thank you so much!
     
  18. UnComfortablyNumb

    UnComfortablyNumb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
  19. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    931
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Is this in the brew session or in the water calculator?
     

Share This Page

arrow_white