Brew House efficiency 313%?

Discussion in 'Recipe Editor' started by gozer, Jan 27, 2020.

  1. gozer

    gozer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I know I overshot my OG a bit, but 313%? This same number has been showing on recent brews no matter what OG I enter when adding the "brew day complete" entry.
     
  2. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    9,418
    Likes Received:
    6,672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    Since we have no idea what else you entered, mind posting screen shots?
     
    Pricelessbrewing likes this.
  3. gozer

    gozer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    [​IMG]
    Let me know if you need any other info. This has happened on the last 2 batches starting 1/12.
     
  4. oliver

    oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    LHBS owner
    Location:
    NOLA
    did you brew 44 gallons or 44 liters?

    If i mathed correctly, probably didn't, the division (44 gallons divided by 11.62 gallons = 3.7865) and then 313% divided by 3.7865 = 82% brewhouse efficiency? Don't know if that works at all, but seems more reasonable.
     
  5. gozer

    gozer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    44 liters - double checked the log entry since units are not shown
     
  6. Nosybear

    Nosybear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    9,418
    Likes Received:
    6,672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Aurora, CO, USA
    Check your profile settings - if you're set to Conventional units, the calculator looked at your 44 and saw gallons.
     
    Pricelessbrewing likes this.
  7. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing QA Software Tester
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    503
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Weird, it's showing units on my end. I'll investigate that later and submit a ticket when I find the cause.

    There are also unit dropdowns at the "start a brew session" page when creating the session, as well as when editing the specifics brew log there should be a drop-down for the unit.

    Based on the value, and the PPG, my guess is that nosys assumption is correct. 1 gallon = 3.875 liters, so 313% would correspond to roughly 82-83%.
     
  8. gozer

    gozer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I do keep everything in metric on my profile.
     
  9. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing QA Software Tester
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    503
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Are you able to make the recipe public so we can help further? If not, yooper and myself can assist if you send us a message with the recipe to provide more support.
     
  10. BarbarianBrewer

    BarbarianBrewer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2017
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    741
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    @gozer, maybe you are just a really awesome brewer! :D

    Probably nothing but could Brew House Efficiency depend on other entries? I notice that none of the other efficiencies have been calculated and the Wort Volume is waiting for input as well.
     
  11. Pricelessbrewing

    Pricelessbrewing QA Software Tester
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    503
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Could be mistaken, but I'm fairly certain brewhouse only uses the brewday complete log entry.
     
  12. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    I don’t see any brew log now with 313%- did you find the error and correct it? I can dig into it, if I know where to look!
     
  13. gozer

    gozer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    The missing units on the brew day complete entry was the issue. I opened the entry, changed to gallons in the drop-down, then back to liters and it showed the correct efficiency as well as the unit by the volume.
     
    Pricelessbrewing likes this.

Share This Page

arrow_white