Brand new to brewing!

WmReign

Trial Member
Reaction score
I have not yet purchased any equipment or kits yet. I figured I would take advice from experienced brewers before I take on this new hobby.
I'm a good cook in the kitchen and can follow recipes, I'm familiar with sanitation and contamination. My full time job is swimming pools so I know plumbing and filtration.
I like the idea of crafting 5 liter kegs just enough to share with a friend. I live in apartment so no space for a large setup and small batches seems more reasonable.
I would like to go into the direction of self sustainability when it comes to raw materials, yeast grains and hops. I know I am capable or propagating yeast and buying local hops and grains.

If knowing what you know now, what method and setup would you go with to get started??

It can be as simple or as complex as you'd like.

+1 to BIAB.

It's the option I chose (about 10 liter batches) because I wanted to brew all grain, but keep things simple and in the kitchen. I'm loving it.

Good luck!

Welcome to the forums. What a smart man you seeking advice before jumping head long into the hobby I admire that for sure. I'm thinking you'll also have your mash Ph ect down pat too seeing as you adjust PH in pools too with acid.

If starting out and can afford it id go for one of the many all in one electric brew systems out there. Digiboil or Ezeboil is one Grain father is another robo brew in Aus also another new similar one Called Gutan they make fermentors too.

Of course choice is yours depends on what you like a diyer a large pot and Biab bag fermentation bucket it's all you need amongst other bits and Bob's really.

Before spending a large sum of money on a robobrew, grainfather or the like, you may want to buy a starter kit which will come with ingredients, buckets, and a small kettle. If you get the bug you will no doubt want to start looking at an all in one system, but if you don't get the bug you have not spent a lot of money...