Bottling question - 2L soda bottles?

FUBAR

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a noob and busy with my first home brew.

Due to Covid-19, many of my local shops are sold out and it will take a while before I can get the right bottles and/or a bottle capper etc but I should be fine when I do my 2nd batch in a few weeks time..

I want to bottle this weekend and I believe I can use soda bottles as they can handle carbonation at pressures much higher than beer.
I generally pour into a beer glass so wont be sipping directly from the bottle.

My question: (Preferably from someone who has bottled with a 2L soda bottle)

How much space should I leave in the gap between the cap and the top of the beer, 2 inches? (To prevent a bottle bomb)

Many thanks

Hi,

I'm a noob and busy with my first home brew.

Due to Covid-19, many of my local shops are sold out and it will take a while before I can get the right bottles and/or a bottle capper etc but I should be fine when I do my 2nd batch in a few weeks time..

I want to bottle this weekend and I believe I can use soda bottles as they can handle carbonation at pressures much higher than beer.
I generally pour into a beer glass so wont be sipping directly from the bottle.

My question: (Preferably from someone who has bottled with a 2L soda bottle)

How much space should I leave in the gap between the cap and the top of the beer, 2 inches? (To prevent a bottle bomb)

Many thanks
Leave as little as possible. Fill that bad boy to the rim, then the space left when you pull the bottling wand out is the amount of space you want.

Leave as little as possible. Fill that bad boy to the rim, then the space left when you pull the bottling wand out is the amount of space you want.

Yes, that's exactly what I do as well. I think it's maybe an inch(?) when you pull the bottling wand out. Make sure you put the cap on as tightly as possible. When the soda bottle is really firm, then the beer is carbonated!