Boil Gravity to Original Gravity

mengelma

Premium Member
Reaction score
Hello All,

I have been using Brewers Friend for 1+ years, doing all grain 10 Gallon batches.

Just got a refractometer to check preboil gravity, etc.

Brewed Yoopers Oatmeal stout last weekend, to the base recipe (fantastic).

Advance Recipe options and stats shows 'boil gravity' of 1.044. and 'original gravity' of 1.056.
1) Trying to understand if 'boil gravity' in advanced recipe is equal to pre boil efficiency in brew log.
2) increase from 1.044 to 1.055 seems way to much for a one hour boil at boil off rate of 1 gal/hr

Actual results:
1) Pre boil gravity via refractometer (brew log) 1.043
2) Original gravity 1.052 (hydrometer)

Bottom line trying to understand relationship of boil gravity to original gravity.

Thanks all

Hmmm, that does seem like a huge change. What is your preboil volume vs your post-boil volume in the software?

thats all relative to your settings in your profile, you set your losses, are you brewing someone else's recipe or creating your own using your kettle and losses in the recipe

Hmmm, that does seem like a huge change. What is your preboil volume vs your post-boil volume in the software?

Preboil volume is 13.7 gal
Boil off set to 1 gal / hour (Keggle)
Fermenter target 11.0 gal (achieved)
dead kettle set to 1.5 gal

Recipe for this batch was updated from my initial recipe input from about 9 months ago. I have been tweaking profiles as I go.

I think I am missing the starting gravity due to the amount of dead kettle I have set, but I thought the software would adjust.

Still would like to know what the boil gravity in the recipe editor is equivalent to in efficiency calcs.

Thank you all for your input. I really appreciate it.

Preboil volume is 13.7 gal
Boil off set to 1 gal / hour (Keggle)
Fermenter target 11.0 gal (achieved)
dead kettle set to 1.5 gal