BIAB - correct OG but evaporation less

NunheadBrewer

Trial Member
Reaction score
I hope this is a simple question due a relatively simple answer, as I am new to BIAB (3 so far) and not a scientist!

I have followed a recipe, and then used an online calculator to work out grain bill and water needed.
Although the last two times, i have roughly hit the OG stated in the recipe but ended up with around 35-40% more beer than planned.

What could be factors here?

It makes me think that if i get the starting water volume correct, the gravity will be really high during the brew and I'd have to water it down (adding more water/volume)?!

any info would be gratefully received!