Better Wine Support

Jason Cox

Premium Member
Reaction score
For beer, I really like your calculator but already had BeerSmith so just continue to use it. I want to be a paid customer for you, but can't because of the poor support for wine :) . (Check out VinoTrac for example).

+ Add wine yeasts / cider yeasts (there is another feature req out there for that).
+ Remove some "required" fields from the beer recipe, make them optional (Boil time for example).
+ Add more fermentables, like different grape varieties

It still would not be perfect, but a data admin can add yeasts and fermentables without a software change, and I could use it for wine (and start using it for all my beer recipes).

Hmmmm, I've been making wine for 30 years, and only brewing for about 15, and I've never had the notion to use brewer's friend or Beersmith for wine recipes. I use some simple calculations via wine calc to add sugar to get a desired OG, but I don't see how useful brewing software would be for winemakers or cidermakers. Can you explain how it could be useful, and what you would use it for?

I have pretty copious notes for my acid adjustments/pH readings/ brix/ chapatilization/etc, but it's as whole different thing than brewing. For brewing, I use software to make my recipes and calculate IBUs and water chemistry, which doesn't apply at all to wine so I'm trying to picture what you mean.

Hmmmm, I've been making wine for 30 years, and only brewing for about 15, and I've never had the notion to use brewer's friend or Beersmith for wine recipes. I use some simple calculations via wine calc to add sugar to get a desired OG, but I don't see how useful brewing software would be for winemakers or cidermakers. Can you explain how it could be useful, and what you would use it for?