Belgian Saison WLP 565

MortgageBrewer

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
This is my first time making a Saison beer. Simple recipe...Maris Otter Pale, Saaz, and East Kent Goldings...

It's been 11 days of fermentation at about 72-74 degrees...airlock is still bubbling. Is this normal for this yeast?

Thanks for the feedback.

not sure what yeast you used, but the one saison that ive done so far, i left awhile to ferment. saisons in general tend to keep fermenting those last few points where other yeasts would just give up

not sure what yeast you used, but the one saison that ive done so far, i left awhile to ferment. saisons in general tend to keep fermenting those last few points where other yeasts would just give up

I put the yeast in the title. White Labs 565 :)

Doh, my bad.

bonehead mistake aside, hopefully something else in my post will redeem my intelligence a little bit :rolleyes:

Two saisons ive done smashed gravitydown to near 1.000 in a week! A monster of a yeast ive found very agressive fermentation i fermented 28c pitched 26 for 24hrs then let it free rise.

thats water if you ask me, too thin for my tastes but great on a hot day

thats water if you ask me, too thin for my tastes but great on a hot day
Trust me it sure dont taste like water oz if anything them two are polar opposites. This saison ive got atm is heaps prickly on the toungue nice a dry with some subtle spice yeah a thirst quencher but i wouldnt be able to throw it back like a pilsner its got some real bite to it.

This is my first time making a Saison beer. Simple recipe...Maris Otter Pale, Saaz, and East Kent Goldings...

It's been 11 days of fermentation at about 72-74 degrees...airlock is still bubbling. Is this normal for this yeast?

Thanks for the feedback.

Saison is its own animal. 2 weeks is not out of line for it. May even want to warm it a bit more and give it a swirl. Gravity may end low but flavor will be there.