Belgian Mild feedback required

tjg86

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm relatively new to home brewing but have had an idea for a hybrid beer for quite a while. Ideally I want the strength and some of the other characteristics of a dark mild with the complexity and flavour of a classic Belgian Dubbel.

https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/684509/van-damme-mild

Am I on the right track (in theory), should I start over or should I bin the idea completely?

Cheers

Tim

It's fun to experiment I agree, even if it doesn't turn out so great all the time (I'm a beginner myself...not quite a year into brewing). My view on your recipe... Isn't it a lot of fermentables in there...do they all have a purpose?

It's fun to experiment I agree, even if it doesn't turn out so great all the time (I'm a beginner myself...not quite a year into brewing). My view on your recipe... Isn't it a lot of fermentables in there...do they all have a purpose?

Well the oats are in there for mouthfeel and the wheat is in for head retention. The rest are quite typical for either Belgian Dubbels or Milds. Trying to get it dark, flavoursome and unmistakably Belgian even with the low abv

Maybe just take a mild recipe and sub the yeast with Belgian ale yeast?

Looks good to me not that ive brewed alot of darker styles:rolleyes:. The flaked wheat and oats should give you a good mouthfeel full bodied beer that the sugar will strip a bit but should ballance out the extra alcohol produced. Good luck keep your notes handy when tasting and adjust if needs be for next time.

I don't know how the roast would interact with the Belgian characteristics - but it's worth a shot! I'd just do a Belgian blonde and lose the sugar.

The sugar is normal for a lot of Belgian beers, but those tend to be higher abv brews. I think for a low abv beer the sugar would thin the body too much.