Barleywine?

sbaclimber

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
I have no experience brewing barleywines, but am thinking about brewing up one about mid-October for drinking around Christmas / New Years.
I was initially hoping to do an IIPA, but I am a bit wary of brewing anything over 50 IBUs until I have my *overly* bitter aftertaste issue sorted (thread here: http://www.brewersfriend.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=82). Plus, I will be sharing the brew with family and friends, and they aren't all hop-heads. So, I have settled for a barleywine.

A couple of my earlier IPAs were a bit CaraHell heavy, and had a really nice toasty, nutty, dried fruit taste, which wasn't quite what I was looking for in an IPA, but thought would be great in a somewhat stronger, darker, warm, winter beer.
So, with that in mind, this is the recipe I have come up with:
6.5 kg Pale Ale
1 kg CaraFoam
1.5 kg CaraHell
0.1 kg CaraAroma
25 g Magnum @60 min
15 g Tettnanger @15 min
10 g Tettnanger @14 days Dry Hop
WLP007 Yeast

Calculated SRM is just over 12, IBUs just over 50, and ABV ~9.5% (my efficiency isn't all that great).
I pretty much just entered some of the hops I have lying around and have some experience with using. I am open to using any german variety though.

Do those of you who have experience with barleywines think I am on the right track, or am I completely off target?