Advice from experienced brewers please...

blackcats

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello friends,
I'm a newbie brewer and I'm just gearing up to do 5 gallon batches. Looking ahead, I want to eventually dive into all-grain, but I am undecided about larger batch sizes.

Please help me with these questions.

1. I just bought a Tall Boy 10 gallon. My stove top can boil 4 gallons in it, I'm in fact doing it now, lol. Does that mean that I can do 5 gallon Brewers Best kits indoors? I did also buy a Darkstar 2.0, so I'm still in business outside either way.

2. Should I drill holes in the Tall Boy at some point to add a thermometer and ball valve or should I shop for a new kettle down the road? How will this kettle fit into my evil plans as I go to all-grain and possibly go to bigger batch sizes?

3. Should I swap out the regulator in the Dark Star or will the 5 PSI regulator that came with it be sufficient for what I'm doing?

Thanks...and CHEERS!

Last edited:
welcome to the site and brewing

both are fine for extract or bib all grain, with that size pot you can only brew a 5 gallon all grain batch and the stock regulator is fine for either, I would nail down your process with that set up first before going bigger, you don't need to get fancy right out of the gate unless you just have money to burn, get a good paddle and any hand temp probe, analog or digital will work to start, see if you get bit by the bug then make your changes, you may just like the ease of making your own extract recipes

Hello friends,
I'm a newbie brewer and I'm just gearing up to do 5 gallon batches. Looking ahead, I want to eventually dive into all-grain, but I am undecided about larger batch sizes.

Please help me with these questions.

1. I just bought a Tall Boy 10 gallon. My stove top can boil 4 gallons in it, I'm in fact doing it now, lol. Does that mean that I can do 5 gallon Brewers Best kits indoors? I did also buy a Darkstar 2.0, so I'm still in business outside either way.