Accept PayPal for membership

100amps

Trial Member
Reaction score
I prefer to pay by PayPal for most internet vendors and services so that I don't have to worry about my credit card details being stored on (and possibly stolen from) yet another vendor's (potentially insecure) commerce server. I work in IT security; For me, this is a show-stopper in buying a Brewers Friend Premium membership, which seems to be reasonably priced.

it actually costs the vendors you pay it to 3% more so that make less profit for the companies

Identity theft ain't so bad. I've been hit 3 times this year. Didn't cost me anything but the time to deal with it!:p

it actually costs the vendors you pay it to 3% more so that make less profit for the companies

Right. So there's 4 ways to go off the top of my head:
  1. BF eats the extra 45 cents (for an annual membership) so they can offer prospects the added value (security & convenience) that offering PP brings;
  2. BF subsidizes the cost of PP by increasing all premier memberships slighly.
  3. BF charges prospects 45 cents extra for the PP security & convenience;
  4. BF keeps status quo and takes a pass on some prospective membership revenue;
A cost benefit analysis will need to consider: a) Will offering PayPal increase revenue enough or add enough value to justify or offset the cost? And b) Will passing along the added cost to use PP have any negative impacts?

A poor business decision for BF, in my opinion, would be door #4 which has no upside other than being easy. But it's a decision for the boss or the board.

Last edited:
My 2c i see this time round when i just recently paid for my yearly subscription to brewersfriend that its put me on an automatic yearly deduction. Obviously i can opt out mmmm but i have unbeknown to me signed up to a save the tree wildlife fund that took an monthly deduction out of my account. Lucky for me i met my missus lol;). No angst to you brewersfriend.