AllgrainJock

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi All

Im new to all grain brewing, have done a bit of 5 Gallon Extract in the past but far prefer the new found Challenge of recreating some lovely craft beers. I live in A tower block flat in Scotland, anybody aware oh these will also be aware there is nae space for much, also the electric hob cooker cant handle a pot much bigger than 10 litre and I cant afford to run a 3 KW kettle for an hour, hence my choice for 1 Gallon (4.5 litre in my case) all grain batches.

I Recently made 2 batches using all grain kits bought from my local brew store, both seemed to run smoothly, one was a Red Ale the other a Wheat beer, a big problem I notice I will be facing with my set up is Very large quantities of Sediment and ultimately loss of finish product.

I had used quite a fine cheese cloth bag for my grains although it obviously did not prevent the smaller practicals. My plans for my next batches are purchasing a finer mash bag, then after the mash, poring the wort into a second sanitised container through a muslin square, also poring the sparge water through the bag of grain which will also run through the muslin square. I will then return the wart to its Boil, when this is complete and I have cooled the wort I was then planning on lining a funnel with a fine coffee filter paper where I'll then poor my wort through this into the demi john before aerating and pitching yeast.

I am aware this is unlikely to prevent all sediment but should help a bit, my BIGGER question and worry is if any the pulp I am filtering has any significant contribution to yeast health or flavour, in other words, Am I at risk of creating a poorer environment for the yeast, or indeed the finished flavour and product by removing most of the fine particles at this stage or are all the vital sugars/flavours/nutrients already dissolved in the wort and safe from being filtering out ??

Any info would Be much apreciated
cheers