10 Min boil?

Ryanhuddo

Trial Member
Reaction score
Evening all,

I am new to the home brewing game, on my 2nd batch, 1st turned out really well and I am hooked :p

Anyway I went down to my local home brew shop and got an extract recipe kit, the instructions where to add the extract as the water heats up and stir, once it hits a boil add the hops and maintain a rolling boil for 10 minutes, following this kill the heat and cool it down to pitch the yeast.

Everywhere I have been looking online I haven't seen a 10 minute boil, mostly 60 minute, is this batch ruined before I even get to bottle it? are there pro's and con's to a lower boil time or its recipe dependent?

Another quick question, reading different recipes I have notices adding hops at 0mins, or flame off, when doing this how long do you leave the hops in before cooling/during cooling?

Thank you, Ryan

theres all types of brewing processes out there, nothing wrong with the 10 minute extract boil if its a mellow hopped beer, the longer boil is mainly to remove DMS and for hop bitters, I have a good recipe similar that Ive brewed and liked very well

hops at flame out need to soak while you stir every so often until the temperature naturally lowers to any temp above infection temps which are roughly 80F to 150ishF, I personally stay above 165 my self but just as a beginner I wouldn't try it yet, get e few easy beers under your belt then move up to avoid mistakes, I would avoid dry hopping too for a time, good luck :)

Is the malt extract already hopped? It would make sense then that you are just adding some flavor/aroma hops while all the bitterness is already in the malt extract.

just add your hops in cold water, bring to a boil, wait 10 or 15 minutes then chill, its a good session beer and it works, you need more hops to do this than normal like bittering and finish hops put together